Top 5 Console Video Games of 2014-2015

Game: Destiny

Developer: Bungie

Publishers: Activision, Sony Computer Entertainment

Platforms: Xbox One, Xbox 360, Playstation 4, Playstation 3

Genres: Massively multiplayer, Shared world, First Person Shooter

Rating: Teen

IGN rating: 7.8/10

Release date: September, 9, 2014

Destiny has a very long planned timeline (ten years) with a contract for four games and 20+ DLCs along with four DLC add-ons that are going to be the size of the game. There are three classes in the game with two subclasses each, which allows for several different gameplay types. Currently, Destiny has one DLC out with another one releasing sometime in the second quarter (March, April, May). There is a large DLC called “Comet: Plague Of Darkness” coming out in September 2015; this DLC is going to be the size of the game and sold as a disc. This DLC will have twelve story missions, a new area, six PVP maps, three new subclasses, one new public event, four new three-person strikes, one new six-person raid, and two new weapon types. After this DLC release, there are two other smaller DLCs and then Destiny 2 comes out in September 2016. After this release, there is nothing else known other than the other two games and several DLCs. Destiny’s story is widely criticized and I do agree: the story was mediocre but after Level 20, this game really takes off. When you hit Level 20, it changes from an XP-based leveling system to a gear-based leveling system. The current level cap is 32 but it is guessed to stop at Level 38 eventually. Destinys’ story is only really important in that thats how you unlock different planets and locations. The story is widely regarded as a confusing, unimportant, and bad. The story is used solely to reveal each new species and how to kill them.

Game: Dying Light

Developer: Techland

Publishers: Warner Bros., Interactive Entertainment

Systems: Microsoft Windows, Linux, PS4, Xbox One

Release date: February 27-28, 2015

Genre: Action role-playing, Survival Horror

Rating: Mature

IGN rating: 8.5/10

Dying Light is set in the city of Harran in an unknown time. You play as a character named Kyle Crane as he fights through the zombie-infested streets. There are over 50 hours of gameplay with over 100+ weapons you can obtain. As the main character, you are airdropped into the city to obtain a sensitive case file from Kadir Suleiman. Kyle works for the GRE (Global Relief Effort). There is a multiplayer mode where you can play with up to 4 other players along with a game mode called “Be The Zombie.” There are 2 known DLCs planned.


Game: Call Of Duty: Advanced Warfare

Developers: Sledgehammer Games, High Moon Studios, Raven Software

Publishers: Activision, JP Square Enix

Systems: PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, Microsoft Windows

Release date: November 4, 2014

Genre: First-person Shooter

Rating: Mature

IGN rating: 9.1/10

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare is the latest addition to the Call of Duty franchise. The game is set from 2054 to 2061. In the solo campaign you play as US Marine Corps private Jack Mitchell, butthe campaign is only important in showing you how to play the game. This game really shines in its multiplayer gameplay; I have spent most of my time playing the game in multiplayer. There are options in multiplayer to change the bullets into paintballs which can be really fun. Advanced Warfare is the first Call of Duty game to have a form of jetpack and more lateral movement types. In my opinion this game is fun if you are bored and have nothing else to do.



Game: Evolve

Developer: Turtle Rock Studios

Publisher: 2K Games

Distributer: Take-Two Games

Release date: February 10, 2015

Systems: Microsoft Windows, Playstation 4, XBox One

Genre: First-person shooter

Rating: Mature

IGN rating: 9.0/10

Game Modes: Single player with bots and AI, Multi-player

Evolve is a first-person shooter with a twist: in the game you can either play as one of four hunters, which each have their own perks and gameplay types, or you can play as the monster and try to escape the hunters and evolve through three stages, each more powerful than the last, and then either destroy the hunters or the power core. Each hunter has their own playing type and strategy for attack. For instance, the assault is a tank with their personal shield and high damage output. Hunt is only one of the several types of game modes. There are three types of monsters currently, with at least one more in the works. Each monster has a different style of gameplay; for instance, the Goliath is a tank of power and energy while the Wraith is a stealth creature that turns invisible, creates decoys of itself, and strikes from behind, taking hunters out one by one. Kraken is a master of the sky with lightning strikes and the ability to fly. As a Stage 1 monster, you have to crawl around and eat small creatures to stage up to Stage 2 and take on larger creature or even the hunters; Stage 3 monsters can choose to either destroy the hunters with high power and energy attacks or destroy the power relay in the center of the map. There are four types of hunters, each with three characters with their own powers and abilities. The trapper has a mobile arena that they place to trap the monster in the fight so they can’t get out and recover armor. The Support has a shield generator that they use to shield the assault when taking damage and destroy the monster’s health and armour. The Medic is a very critical part of the team because, without him or her, the team can’t heal or regenerate health. Each type of hunter has three characters within them that have unique abilities and weapons. There is a fourth monster planned named Behemoth. DLC: At launch there were 44 paid DLCs.



Game: Infamous Second Son

Developer: Sucker Punch Productions

Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment

Release Date: March 21, 2014

Systems: PS4

Rating: Teen

IGN Rating: 8.7/10

Genres: Open world, Action-Adventure

Mode: Single-player

This third person, open world, action-adventure game is set in Seattle in 2016, where people called “Conduits” have started to pop up all over the country. These Conduits have gained special abilities and are regarded as a public threat. In the game, you play as Delsin Rowe, a newly discovered conduit. Throughout the course of the story, you encounter several moral decisions which influence whether you become “good” or “evil.” Good and evil each have their own powers to unlock. During the whole campaign you are building up to a fight with the main antagonist, Brooke Augustine. There are three different power types that you gain; these are, in order: Smoke, Neon, and Digital. In summary, if you like open-world games with powers that you can gain, you will like this game.



DLC = Downloadable Content

IGN = Imagine Games Entertainment

XP-based vs. gear-based leveling systems = XP-based leveling is when your level is based on how many enemies you have killed and the XP you have gained. Gear-based leveling is where you level is dependent on what type of gear you have.

XP = Experience points

The following two tabs change content below.

Hugh Braham

Latest posts by Hugh Braham (see all)

Skip to toolbar